New website coming soon!

Mayor and City Council

City Official's Electoral and Meeting Information

The City of Spencer is chartered as a Mayor-Council form of government. There are seven council members. The city is divided into five wards, one council member is elected from each of the five wards and two run at-large which means that everyone in all five wards may vote for them. The Mayor is elected by the voters for a term of two years. The council members are elected by the voters for a term of four years. The council meets in regular session the first and third Mondays of each month to conduct the city's business and can meet for special meetings at anytime. They are also involved in several committee meetings throughout the month.

Board Members Phone Number Appointed Term Ends
Kevin Robinson
2411 W18th Street
Spencer, IA
(712) 580-7200 2018 12/31/2019
City Council Ward 1
Tom Nelson
503 W 4th Street
Spencer, IA
(712) 260-7464
2019 12/31/2021
City Council Ward 2
William Orrison
917 Elmwood
Spencer, IA
(712) 580-3142
2014 12/31/2019
City Council Ward 3
Steve Bomgaars
1608 3rd Ave East
Spencer, IA
(712) 262-3698
2004 12/31/2021
City Council Ward 4
Leann Jacobsen
1217 18th Ave West
Spencer, IA
(515) 707-1557
2016 12/31/2019
City Council Ward 5
Ron Hanson
707 5th Ave.S.E.
Spencer, IA
(712) 262-7748
2006 12/31/2021
City Council At Large
Rich Prentice
112 East 2nd
Spencer, IA
(712) 262-2947
1996 12/31/2019
City Council At Large
George Moriarty
500 West 3rd Street
Spencer, IA
(712) 580-3344
(712) 260-3826
2014 12/31/2021